The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Virginia Military Institute
   
 
  Nov 19, 2017
 
 
    
2014-2015 Academic Catalogue [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Institute Calendar 2014-2015


Critical Dates and Academic Calendar

First Semester - 2014

New cadets matriculate (Cameron Hall) Sat, 23 Aug
Old Corps returns Sun (2200), 31 Aug
Registration Mon, 1 Sep
Classes begin Tue, 2 Sep
Last day for course or curriculum change Tue, 9 Sep
1st Fall Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 12-13 Sep
2nd Fall Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 26-27 Sep
Homecoming Weekend Fri-Sat, 26-27 Sep
Fall FTX Fri (CAD)-Sun, 3-5 Oct
Parents Weekend Fri-Sat, 17-18 Oct
Founders Day (no classes) Tue, 11 Nov
Ring Figure Fri, 21 Nov
Thanksgiving Furlough Tue (CAD)-Sun (2200), 25-30 Nov
Classes end Fri, 12 Dec
Reading Day Sat, 13 Dec
Exams Mon-Sat, 15-19 Dec
December Joint Commissioning Ceremony Thu, 18 Dec
December Graduation Fri, 19 Dec
Christmas Furlough begins Fri (CAD), 19 Dec

Second Semester -  2015

Christmas Furlough ends Mon (2200), 12 Jan
Registration Tue, 13 Jan
Classes begin Wed, 14 Jan
Last day for curriculum and course changes Wed, 21 Jan
Spring Furlough Fri (CAD)-Sun (2200), 13-22 Mar
Spring FTX (No classes Mon & Tue) Fri (CAD)-Tue, 27-31 Mar
Easter Break Fri (CAD)-Mon (2200), 3-6 Apr
Early Spring Reunion Weekend Mon-Tue, 20-21 Apr
Spring Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 24-25 Apr
Classes end Fri, 1 May
Reading Day Sat, 2 May
Exams Mon-Fri, 4-8 May
Institute Awards Ceremony Thu, 14 May
Commissioning Ceremony Fri, 15 May
New Market Day Ceremony Fri, 15 May
Commencement Sat, 16 May

     Classes Changes:

       First Semester: None
   
       Second Semester: Tuesday classes meet on Friday, 27 March
  Monday classes meet on Wednesday, 1 April
  Monday classes meet on Wednesday, 9 April
                                                                                                          

NOTE: Dates are subject to change.