The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Virginia Military Institute
   
 
  Oct 19, 2017
 
 
    
2017-2018 Academic Catalogue

Institute Calendar 2017-2018


Critical Dates and Academic Calendar

First Semester - 2017

New cadets matriculate (Cameron Hall) Sat, 19 Aug
Old Corps returns Sun (2200), 27 Aug
Registration Mon, 28 Aug
Classes begin Tue, 29 Aug
Last day for curriculum and course changes Tue, 5 Sep
1st Fall Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 8-9 Sep
Parents Weekend Fri-Sun, 22-24 Sep
Fall FTX Fri (CAD)-Sun, 13-15 Oct
2nd Fall Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 20-21 Oct
Homecoming Weekend Fri-Sat, 20-21 Oct
Founders Day (No classes) Fri, 10 Nov
Ring Figure Fri, 17 Nov
Thanksgiving Furlough
Fri (CAD)-Mon (2200), 17-27 Nov
Classes end Wed, 13 Dec
Reading Day Thu, 14 Dec
Exams Fri-Wed, 15-20 Dec
December Joint Commissioning Ceremony Tue, 19 Dec
December Commencement Wed, 20 Dec
Christmas Furlough begins Wed (CAD), 20 Dec

Second Semester -  2018

Christmas Furlough ends Wed (1600), 10 Jan
Registration Mon, 15 Jan
Classes begin Tue, 16 Jan
Last day for curriculum and course changes Tue, 23 Jan
Spring Furlough Thu (CAD)-Mon (2200), 22 Mar-2 Apr
Spring FTX Fri (CAD)-Tue, 6-10 Apr
1st Spring Reunion Weekend Fri-Sat, 20-21 Apr
2nd Spring Reunion Mon-Tue, 23-24 Apr
Classes end Fri, 4 May
Reading Day Sat,  5 May
Exams Mon-Fri, 7-11 May
Institute Awards Ceremony Mon, 14 May
Graduation Parade Mon, 14 May
Commissioning Ceremony Tue, 15 May
New Market Day Ceremony Tue, 15 May
Commencement Wed, 16 May

     Class Changes:

       First Semester: Monday classes meet on Tuesday, 29 August
  Friday classes meet on Wednesday, 1 November
  No classes (Founder's Day), Fri, 10 November
   
       Second Semester: Monday classes meet on Thursday, 1 February
       Monday classes meet on Wednesday, 14 February
  No classes (FTX), Monday & Tuesday, 9-10 April
                                                                                                          

NOTE: Dates are subject to change.