Jul 16, 2024  
2023-2024 Academic Catalog 
    
2023-2024 Academic Catalog

VMI Institute Calendar 2023-2024


VMI grounds in different seasons

Critical Dates and Academic Calendar

First Semester - Fall 2023

Event Date
New Cadets Matriculate (Cameron Hall) Sat, 19 Aug
Old Corps Returns Sat (2200), 26 Aug
Registration Mon, 28 Aug
Classes Begin Tue, 29 Aug
Last Day for Curriculum and Course Changes Tue, 5 Sept at 1600
1st Fall Reunion Fri-Sat, 22-23 Sept
Fall FTX Fri (CAD)-Sun, 6-8 Oct
Family Weekend Fri-Sun, 20-22 Oct
2nd Fall Reunion Fri-Sat, 27-28 Oct
Founders Day (No Classes) Fri, 10 Nov
Ring Figure Fri, 17 Nov
Thanksgiving Furlough 18 Nov (CMD) to 26 Nov (2200)
Classes End Thurs, 14 Dec
Reading Day Fri, 15 Dec
Exams Sat-Thurs, 16-21 Dec
December Joint Commissioning Ceremony Wed, 20 Dec
December Commencement Thurs, 21 Dec
Christmas Furlough begins Thurs (CAD), 21 Dec

 


Second Semester - Spring 2024

Event Date
Christmas Furlough ends Sun (2200), 14 Jan
Registration Mon, 15 Jan
Classes Begin Tue, 16 Jan
Last Day for Curriculum and Course Changes Tue, 23 Jan
Spring Furlough Fri (CAD)-Mon (2200), 22 Mar - 1 Apr
Spring FTX Fri (CAD) - Tue, 5-9 Apr
1st Spring Reunion Mon-Tue, 15-16 Apr
2nd Spring Reunion Fri-Sat, 26-27 Apr
Classes End Fri, 3 May
Reading Day Mon, 6 May
Exams Tue-Sat, 7-11 May
Commencement To Be Determined

 


Class Changes:

First Semester Second Semester:

No Classes Wednesday, 6 September


No Classes Tuesday, 17 October
 

Friday Classes will meet on Thursday, 9 November


No Classes Friday, 10 November - Founder’s Day

Monday Classes meet on Thursday, 1 February
 

Monday Classes meet, Friday, 23 February
 

No Classes Wednesday, 6 March


No Classes Monday & Tuesday, 8-9 April - Spring FTX

NOTE: Dates are subject to change.     

2024 Summer Session Dates

Summer Session I: May 20 - June 21 Summer Session II: June 24 - July 26

Classes Begin: May 20

Memorial Day - NO CLASSES: May 27

Last day to withdraw with “W”: June 10

Last day to withdraw with a “W” or “WF”: June 13

Juneteenth - NO CLASSES: June 19

Classes End: June 18

Final Examinations: June 20-21

Classes Begin: June 24

Independence Day - NO  CLASSES: July 4 & 5

Last day to withdraw with a “W”: July 16

Last day to withdraw with a “W” or “WF”: July 19

Classes End: July 24

Final Examinations: July 25-26

 

NOTE: Dates are subject to change.                    

 

 

Drone view of VMI post (campus) on a sunny day